> GERMAN

> TOPICS

Is a nonviolent world possible?

In a world of civil wars, terrorist attacks, populist polarization, human rights violations, hate speech, persecution of minorities, mistreatment of refugees, capitalist exploitation of people and natural resources, extremely unequal distribution of wealth, the industrial slaughter of domestic animals, extinction of species, massive deforestation, mass-destruction weapons – how can anyone be so naive to hold on to the possibility of a nonviolent world?

One possible answer to this ‘realistic’ question comes from the inventor of nonviolent communication, Marshall B. Rosenberg, who truly has no illusions about the human potential for violence, as he has mediated in many areas of conflict around the world. “If we humans have the ingenuity and energy to create high-tech arsenals and security systems, why shouldn’t we be able to use this energy to build a life-serving system?1

Sense of possibility

Indeed, the above-stated, ‘realistic‘ position is, as Judith Butler mentions in ‘The Force of Nonviolence‘, very widespread. However, it is not the only one, and even less the ultimate one. On closer inspection, the perspective described above, reveals itself to be ‘conservative’. It is so not by the intention of maintaining the status quo, but simply by its unimaginativeness and by its limitation.

You either see opportunities or you don’t. The impossible is another name for the not seen. […] The shadow, which lets you see a limited and frightening world full of threats and sinister possibilities, obstructs your view of previously unseen possibilities that you might become aware of if you extended beyond the shadow. Without this expansion, you inevitably have a blinkered vision.2

The ‘sense of reality‘, as Robert Musil calls this lack of imagination in contrast to the ‘sense of possibility‘, in this case, presupposes that there is no probability for collective awareness for nonviolence. However, a transformation of the still prevailing, violence-promoting structures can only be initiated by people who are aware of their ‘wolfish‘ conditioning – through fear, feelings of guilt and shame, as well as judgmental language – and who do not allow themselves to be restricted by the prevailing paradigms.

A paradigm is a whole worldview, and it is only limited by what we view as possible. As old ways of looking at things are challenged, our worldview begins to stretch and expand. That which was previously considered to be impossible becomes possible and eventually is experienced as a new dimension of reality. There is the capacity to look within ourselves to examine our belief systems, ask questions, and seek new solutions.3

The energy of the Self is unconditional love

The heaviness and suffering, negative thoughts and feelings – like clouds – only obscure the divine light and unconditional love of our true Self. By discarding one shadow, limiting paradigm, or illusion after the other, it gets easier and easier to become aware of the presence of the divine love within us. According to Marshall B. Rosenberg, it is this unconditional love that enables us to connect with other people when we are truly present and compassionate with them. This is possible even if we have very different worldviews or are on opposite sides in a bloody conflict.

When I empathize in contexts like this, my mind tells me, ‘Forget it, this will never go away,’ but if I just do everything in my power to connect the two parties, it will eventually happen: It is like a miracle. It’s not me who does that, I can’t heal these wounds. […] But the good thing is that we don’t have to do anything ourselves. When we are empathically connected, the divine energy flows through us and does it. I believe we all have this power in us, it is just there, we are not always connected, access is often blocked.4

Letting go

Only by letting go of limiting believes and emotional thoughts we arrive at that lightness of existence, which is pure consciousness and bliss. Then we are finally connected with the divine energy, which is flowing through all of us. In this state of connectedness that is called ‘Sat-Cit-Ananda‘ in the yoga scriptures, we can no longer be controlled, manipulated, exploited, and imprisoned.

It is the inner emptiness that sets the ego strategies of desire in motion. It becomes noticeable as long as we can not feel the connection with our great self (Atman). As soon as we are in the state of Satcitananda, this feeling of inner emptiness disappears and our desires dissolve on their own, without having to force ourselves ascetically to do so. Stakeholders of the capitalist paradigm – marketing, advertising, media, politicians -, on the other hand, usually address the small self and its desires.

Defense of the small self

Above all, the so-called ‘realistic’ view mentioned in the first paragraph, often serves as the ‘best’ argument to legitimize violence: “Because violence is already happening, the argument continues, there is no real choice about whether or not to enter violence through one’s action: We are already in the field of violence. […]Violence is happening against us, so we are justified in taking violent actions against those who (a) started the violence and (b) directed it against us.5

However, even if we are already in a force-field of violence: How should the circulation of violence be put to an end, if not, right now, we are precisely the ones who make the conscious decision not to contribute to its circulation?

The cosmopolitan attitude of Ahimsa

Furthermore, Judith Butler asks the crucial question: ‘Who is this ‘self’ that we defend in self-defense?‘ Who is included in this self-conception, who is excluded? Are there people(s), who are less worth of our compassion, less ‘grievable’? This is exactly the reason, why we should conceive ‘Ahimsa‘ as a cosmopolitan attitude. Hence, when we stop identifying with the small self – nation, religion, ethnicity, race, or gender – we are less likely to aggressively defend these extensions of our ego. Rather, we then will ‘identify’ with our divine Self, which is unconditional love, bliss, and witnessing consciousness.

The Intention, not to hurt

Ahimsa (Sanskrit: ‘the intention not to hurt‘), in Patañjali‘s eightfold path of yoga, belongs to the ‘Yama‘, the rules that govern the yogi’s relationship with others. Why one might ask, is it the intention that matters in the concept of ‘Ahimsa’, and not the deed, arising from this intention? Indeed, the success or failure of intended action is not always in the power of the acting subject. In other words, deeds or acts of speech can be considered by others as violations without being intended as such.

Moreover, the assessment of an action or statement is determined by psychological or even cultural factors, that we can not always influence. However, we can influence our intention and the courage and attention with which we perform this action.

Bhava

It is the feeling or intention [or mindset] (that is Bhava) with which an act is done which determines its moral worth. [] On this Bhava [] both, character and the whole outlook on life depend. Therefore, it is sought [by yogīs] to render the Bhava pure.”6

Intentions can also be considered from an energetic point of view. As emotions have different frequencies of energy, which can be felt by others, likewise the intention with which we are acting, can be unconsciously registered by others. This is why the intention matters.

Our feelings and thoughts always have an effect on other persons and affect our relationships, whether these thoughts or feelings are verbalized, expressed, or not. […] Almost everyone is brought up to believe that our thoughts and feelings are private affairs and nobody else’s business, that all minds are separated, and that emotions only happen within the confinement of the body. As we begin to investigate in this area, we find that often the set of feelings we hold about another person is mirrored back by their attitude and that, when we change our inner attitude about them, their attitude changes abruptly. Finding out what needs to be cleaned out is simple and easy. Just look at what you would not want others to know about you and begin to surrender it. 7

Potentiation of effects?

But another fact may have led Patañjali to site Ahimsa as the very first step on the yoga path. Intentions become reality all too easily when all the mental energy is focussing on them. Hence, when the yogi, through concentration and meditation, develops supernatural powers, the temptation to use them to his/her own advantage also could grow. For this reason, the yogi should anchor Ahimsa firmly in his/her attitude, before s/he proceeds to higher states.

Moreover, hurtful intentions and thoughts, and hurtful actions lead to existential and emotional entanglements. Consequently, these intentions can throw the yogi back in his/her ability to deliberately end the mental modifications and fluctuations (Vrttis).

Intentions reveal themselves in action

Certain mental attitudes, such as prejudices, sweeping suspicions, or ressentiment inevitably influence our attitude and lead to corresponding decisions, even if these connections may remain hidden at the moment of action. Therefore, T. K. V. Desikachar emphasizes in his interpretation of Patañjali’s Yoga-Sūtras that the development of such a sensitivity to the effects of violent intentions is a step-by-step process.

It requires effort, “[…] to find out the causes for wrong views and behaviors, and if we recognize the underlying Kleshas [mental and emotional afflictions] in our mind, our attitudes will change naturally and gradually. The Kleshas will lose their power and influence, and our dealings with the environment and our behavior with others will become clearer and more appropriate.8

Gradual investigation

In his Interpretation of the Yoga-Sūtras, therefore, Swami Harirananda Aranya points out, that the perfect realization of Ahimsa also requires concentration and meditation. Only in this way one can recognize, track down, and abandon more subtle forms of violence. Thus, he emphasizes that the eight limbs of Asthanga-Yoga (Sanskrit Astha: ‘eight’, Anga: ‘limbs’) – Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi – each relate to the other.

In other words, at the beginning one may have only a vague idea of what the practice of Ahimsa might look like. Thus, by gradually deepening this practice – through Pranayama, the regulation and lengthening of breathing that can change emotional states, through Asanas (yoga postures) that purify the nervous and Nadi-system, through Pratyahara, directing attention inwardly to emotions and sensations or disturbing thoughts that trigger them, through Samyama (the concentrated energy of Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi) that leads us to a deep understanding of the effects of these Kleshas – in short, through all eights steps of the yoga-path the profound practice of nonviolence can be established.

Finally, once the yogi has rooted Ahimsa deeply into his/her consciousness, all disturbing thoughts that might lead to violence will eventually disappear by themselves. However, only if these mental reactions do not reappear even when provoked, has one mastered the art of Ahimsa.

Ahimsa as political term

The sensitization to the more subtle aspects of nonviolence, as described by T.K.V Desikachar and Swami Hariharananda Aranya, initially takes place on an individual level.

However, the attitude described by the term ‘Ahimsa’ has not only the potential to transform the lives of individuals. Moreover, it can affect the way we live together. Thus, it has political potential. Even though, if a protest movement uses nonviolent means to fight for its goals, each individual must support the nonviolent attitude. Indeed, it often takes only one violent reaction to bring about the escalation of a conflict. Both, radical groups, as well as the state, exploit this fact to discredit nonviolent resistance.

One major challenge faced by those in favor of nonviolence is that ‘violence’ and ‘nonviolence’ are disputed terms. […] In public debates, we see that ‘violence’ is labile, its semantics appropriated in ways that call to be contested […]. Demonstrations, encampments, assemblies, boycotts, and strikes are all subject to being called ‘violent’, even when they do not see recourse to physical fighting. […] When states or institutions do this, they seek to rename nonviolent practices as violent, conducting a political war as it were, at the level of public semantics.9

Marginalia of history

Indeed, an astonishing number of nonviolent revolts have successfully mastered the immense challenge of persuading individuals to adopt an attitude of nonviolence in order to stand up for the common cause. Nevertheless, for both the mass media and historiography, nonviolent movements are usually nothing more than marginal notes or footnotes. On the one hand, they are considered ineffective. While on the other hand, the state or state-near media publicly brand them as violent despite their nonviolent appearance.

Ahimsa as unifying concept?

Although the predominant perception and the representation of the condition of the recent world in the mass media is one of continuous violence, the existence of a hidden undercurrent of nonviolent interventions can not be denied.

Mohandas Karamchand (Mahatma) Gandhi was not the first to cultivate this nonviolent form of resistance. However, he was the one who made a wider public aware of the power of these hidden forces. Indeed, the term ‘Ahimsaplays an important role in ‘Hinduism‘ as well as in Jainism and Buddhism. Gandhi’s fame was a result of transforming Ahimsa into a political concept, which he called Satyagrāha.

Actual relevance

Though many continue to believe that nonviolence is an ineffective instrument against dictatorship and genocide, in the last several decades many democratic initiatives, which are premised on nonviolent militancy and an affirmation of human rights helped to build a global civil society on solid ethical foundations.10

At a time marked by religious tensions fuelled by right-wing politicians both in India and in Europe, in the United States, and in South America, Ahimsa as a cosmo-political attitude seems to become very relevant again.

Ahimsa archive

An open and heterogenous Ahimsa archive shall offer an alternative to mass media representation, to make the many hidden forms of nonviolence visible. However, the aim is not to deny the violent and martial aspects of human beings. Not by ignoring and suppressing our dark sides, but precisely by confronting our shadows and demons, we can learn to resist their pull.

The shadow is a community project. Everyone can participate in its construction and needs nothing more than the ability to remain unconscious. […] We defend ourselves against our shadow and deny it because we have been thoroughly indoctrinated or we are simply under the hypnosis of social conditioning.”11

Emergence of violence

Violence often arises from individual or collective traumatic experiences. In order to overcome trauma, the traumatized person must first free him or herself from the rigidity of fear. Thus, through a catharsis of the stuck survival reactions s/he can gradually transform his/her interpretation of his/her story.

Each individual has his/her specific way of dealing with experiences of violence. In other words, everyone finds his/her own strategies to overcome feelings of helplessness, anger, fear, and grief.

What applies to the individual memory, as well applies to collective memory. As long as we consider ourselves as a victim, the energy remains blocked and manifests itself in depressions and fears. It turns into self-hatred or vengeance, manifests itself in anger and outbursts of violence, or simmers as ressentiment. Only when we can consider the suffered violence as irrevocably bygone, can the energies be released. As a result, they express themselves in creativity, spontaneity, and mental clarity.

Finding the language again

Not only has violence an immediate effect, but it also has a sudden, overwhelming impact. Therefore, a violent assault, a traumatic experience, or an aggressive provocation often leaves us speechless. It often takes hours or even days to figure out, what we could have replied after we have been hurt. Hence, finding words to express what has happened is an important step to free ourselves from the spell of violence. This can happen in a conversation with a friend or therapist or by de-scribing the emotions triggered by the injury.

Trauma let people fall silent. […] keeping traumatic experiences to oneself, however, maintains their impact. […] Breaking the silence is the first step in replacing automated reaction patterns with conscious decisions.12

Transformation of memory

In narratives the human brain processes experiences and transforms all components, such as impressions, feelings, intuitions, thoughts into stories. This applies both on the individual and collective level. Thus, the conscious confrontation with these individual or collective narratives leads to the transformation of the perception of the past.

Consequently, the aim of the Ahimsa network is to transform memory by consciously confronting prevailing narratives and discourses. Collecting new stories of nonviolent rebellion is another intention. Subsequently, by a transdisciplinary approach to the manifold aspects of nonviolence, an archive of nonviolent attitudes and strategies shall arise.

Author: Eva Pudill

> BIBLIOGRAPHY

Estimated reading time: 13 minutes

Related Articles:

ENGLISH

> THEMEN

Ist eine gewaltlose Welt möglich?

Wie kann in einer Welt von Bürgerkriegen, Terroranschlägen, populistischer Polarisierung, Menschenrechtsverletzungen, Hassreden, Verfolgung von Minderheiten, Misshandlung von Flüchtlingen, Zwangsprostitution, kapitalistischer Ausbeutung von Menschen und natürlichen Ressourcen, Massentierhaltung, Artensterben, massiver Entwaldung und Massenvernichtungswaffen nur irgendjemand so naiv sein, an der Möglichkeit einer gewaltlosen Welt festzuhalten?

Eine mögliche Antwort auf diese ‘realistische’ Frage kommt vom Erfinder der gewaltfreien Kommunikation, Marshall B. Rosenberg, der wahrlich keine Illusionen über die Gewaltpotenziale des Menschen hatte, da er in vielen Konfliktgebieten rund um die Welt vermittelt hat. “Wenn wir Menschen den Einfallsreichtum und die Energie aufbringen, hoch technisierte Waffenarsenale und Sicherheitssysteme zu schaffen, warum sollten wir diese Energie nicht dafür benutzen können, ein dem Leben dienendes System aufzubauen?1

Möglichkeitssinn

Der eingangs skizzierte ‘realistische’ Standpunkt ist, so die Philosophin Judith Butler, sehr weit verbreitet. Er ist jedoch nicht der einzige und noch weniger der letztgültige. Bei genauerer Betrachtung offenbart sich diese Perspektive vielmehr als ‘konservativ’ – nicht in dem Sinn, dass sie den Status quo aufrechtzuerhalten versucht, sondern schlicht wegen ihrer Einfallslosigkeit und Beschränktheit.

Möglichkeiten werden von Ihnen entweder gesehen oder eben nicht. Das Unmögliche ist ein anderer Name für das nicht Gesehene. Damit verstellt Ihnen der Schatten, der Sie eine begrenzte und beängstigende Welt voller Bedrohungen und finsterer Möglichkeiten sehen lässt, den Blick auf noch nicht gesehene Möglichkeiten, die ihnen bewusst werden könnten, wenn Sie sich über den Schatten hinaus ausdehnen würden. Ohne diese Ausdehnung haben Sie zwangsläufig eine Scheuklappensicht.2

Der ‘Realitätssinn‘, wie Robert Musil diesen Mangel an Vorstellungskraft im Gegensatz zum ‘Möglichkeitssinn‘ nennt, setzt in diesem Fall voraus, dass es keine Möglichkeit für eine kollektive Bewusstseinsbildung gibt. Eine Transformation der immer noch vorherrschenden, gewalt-fördernden Strukturen kann nur von Menschen initiiert werden, die sich ihrer ‘wölfischen‘ Konditionierungen – durch Angst, Schuld- und Schamgefühle, sowie eine (ver-)urteilende Sprache – bewusst sind, und sich nicht von den vorherrschenden Paradigmen beschränken lassen.

Ein Paradigma ist eine gesamte Weltanschauung die nur durch das begrenzt wird, was wir für möglich halten. Wenn alte Sichtweisen in Frage gestellt werden, beginnt sich unser Weltbild zu erweitern. Was bisher als unmöglich galt, wird möglich und wird schließlich als neue Dimension der Realität erlebt. Es entsteht die Fähigkeit, sich selbst zu beobachten, um die eigenen Glaubenssysteme zu untersuchen, Fragen zu stellen und nach neuen Lösungen zu suchen.3

Bedingungslose Liebe

Negative Gedanken und Gefühle verdunkeln – wie Gewitterwolken – nur das göttliche Licht und die bedingungslose Liebe unseres wahren Selbst. Indem wir ein einschränkendes Paradigma nach dem anderen, eine Illusion nach der anderen, eine Konditionierung nach der anderen verwerfen, wird es schließlich immer einfacher, uns der Gegenwart der göttlichen Liebe in uns bewusst zu werden.

Laut Marshall B. Rosenberg ist es diese bedingungslose Liebe, die es uns ermöglicht, mit anderen Menschen in Kontakt zu treten, wenn wir wirklich anwesend und mitfühlend mit ihnen sind. Dies ist selbst dann möglich, wenn wir sehr unterschiedliche Weltanschauungen haben, ja selbst dann, wenn wir in einem blutigen Konflikt auf entgegengesetzten Seiten stehen.

Wenn ich in solchen Kontexten Einfühlung gebe, erzählt mir mein Verstand: ‘Vergiss es, das wird sich niemals lösen’, aber wenn ich einfach alles tue, was in meiner Macht steht, um die Verbindung zwischen den beiden Parteien aufzubauen, dann passiert es irgendwann: Es ist wie ein Wunder. Ich bin es nicht, der das tut, ich kann diese Wunden nicht heilen […] Aber das Gute ist, dass wir selber gar nichts tun müssen. Wenn wir empathisch verbunden sind, fließt die göttliche Energie durch uns hindurch und tut es. Ich glaube wir alle haben diese Kraft in uns, sie ist einfach da, wir sind nicht immer damit verbunden, der Zugang ist oft verstellt.4

Loslassen

Nur wenn wir diese begrenzenden Überzeugungen und Emotionen loslassen, gelangen wir zu jener Leichtigkeit der Existenz, die reines Bewusstsein, Glückseligkeit und Liebe ist. Dann sind wir mit der göttlichen Energie verbunden, die durch uns alle fließt. In diesem Zustand – in den Yoga-Schriften als ‘Satcitananda‘ bezeichnet – können wir nicht länger kontrolliert, manipuliert, ausgebeutet und eingesperrt werden.

Es ist die innere Leere, die die Ego-Strategien des Begehrens in Gang setzt. Sie macht sich bemerkbar, solange wir die Verbindung mit unserem großen Selbst [Atman] nicht fühlen können. Sobald wir im Zustand von Satcitananda sind, verschwindet dieses Gefühl der inneren Leere und unser Begehren löst sich von selbst auf, ohne dass wir uns asketisch dazu zwingen müssten. Stakeholder des kapitalistischen Paradigmas – Marketing, Werbung, Medien, Politiker – sprechen hingegen gewöhnlich das kleine Selbst und seine Begehrlichkeiten an.

Verteidigung des kleinen Selbst

Die eingangs erwähnte, sogenannte ‚realistische’ Sichtweise dient auch oft als das beste Argument, um Gewalt zu legitimieren.

Da Gewalt bereits der vorherrschende Zustand ist, scheint es keine wirkliche Wahl zu geben, ob wir das [gewaltsame] Handlungsfeld nun betreten sollen oder nicht. […]Gewalt findet gegen uns statt, daher sind wir berechtigt, gewalttätige Maßnahmen gegen diejenigen zu ergreifen, die (a) die Gewalt begonnen und (b) gegen uns gerichtet haben’.5

Selbst wenn wir uns schon in einem Kräftefeld der Gewalt befinden. Wie sollte dem Zirkulieren der Gewalt ein Ende gesetzt werden, wenn nicht gerade jetzt, gerade wir diejenigen sind, die die bewusste Entscheidung treffen, nicht zu ihrem Zirkulieren beizutragen?

Ahimsa als kosmopolitische Haltung

Judith Butler stellt darüber hinaus in ‘The Force of Nonviolence‘, die entscheidende Frage: ‘Wer ist dieses ‘Selbst‘, das in der Selbstverteidigung verteidigt wird?‘ Wer wird hier ein-, wer wird ausgeschlossen? Wer verdient unser Mitgefühl und wer kann unseren ‘höheren Zielen’ geopfert werden? Gibt es Menschen, die unser Mitgefühl weniger wert sind, deren Sterben weniger betrauernswert ist?

Dies ist genau der Grund, warum Ahimsa als kosmopolitische Haltung aufgefasst werden sollte.

Wenn wir aufhören, uns mit dem kleinen Selbst – der Nation, der Religion, der Ethnie, der Rasse oder dem Geschlecht – zu identifizieren, ist es weniger wahrscheinlich, dass wir diese Erweiterungen des Ego aggressiv verteidigen. Vielmehr ‘identifizieren’ wir uns dann mit dem göttlichen Selbst, das bedingungslose Liebe, Glückseligkeit und Zeugenbewusstsein ist.

Ohne Intention zu verletzen

Ahimsa (Sanskrit: ‘ohne Intention, zu verletzen‘), gehört in Patañjalis achtgliedrigen Yoga-Weg zu den Yamas. Es sind jene Regelungen, die das Verhältnis des Yogis zu anderen betreffen. Warum, so könnte man fragen, kommt es bei Ahimsa auf die Intention an, und nicht primär auf die Handlung? Das Gelingen oder Nicht-gelingen einer intendierten Handlung liegt nicht immer in der Macht des handelnden Subjektes. Handlungen oder Sprechakte können von anderen als Verletzung aufgefasst werden, ohne, dass sie als solche intendiert waren.

Die Beurteilung einer Handlung oder Aussage wird von psychologischen oder auch kulturellen Faktoren bestimmt, die wir nicht immer beeinflussen können. Unsere Intention und die Aufmerksamkeit, mit der wir eine intendierte Handlung ausführen, können wir hingegen sehr wohl beeinflussen.

Bhava

Es ist das Gefühl oder die Intention (Bhāva) mit welcher eine Handlung ausgeführt wird, die ihren moralischen Wert bestimmt. Von diesem Bhāvahängt sowohl der Charakter einer Person als auch seine Einstellung zum Leben ab. Deshalb sind Yogis immer darauf bedacht, sich über ihr Bhāva stets und aufrichtig im Klaren zu sein.”6

Intentionen können auch unter energetischen Gesichtspunkten betrachtet werden. Emotionen haben unterschiedliche Energiefrequenzen, die wahrnehmbar sind. Deshalb können unsere Mitmenschen auch die Absicht, mit der wir handeln, unbewusst registrieren.

Unsere Gefühle und Gedanken wirken sich immer auf andere Personen aus und beeinflussen unsere Beziehungen, unabhängig davon, ob diese Gedanken oder Gefühle ausgedrückt werden oder nicht. […] Wir lernen meist zu glauben, dass […] unsere Gedanken nur uns etwas angehen und dass Emotionen nur innerhalb der Begrenzung unseres Körpers stattfinden. Wenn wir [aber] beginnen, in diesem Bereich Nachforschungen anzustellen, erkennen wir, dass die Gefühle, die wir einer anderen Person gegenüber haben, oft durch ihre Haltung zurück gespiegelt werden und dass sich ihre Haltung abrupt ändert, wenn wir unsere innere Haltung ihnen gegenüber ändern. […] Überlege einfach, von welchen deiner Einstellungen andere lieber nichts wissen sollten und lasse diese Voreingenommenheiten los.7

Potenzierung der Wirkung?

Doch noch eine andere Tatsache könnte Patanjali dazu veranlasst haben, Ahimsa als den ersten Schritt auf dem Yoga-Weg zu anzuführen. Intentionen werden nur allzu leicht Wirklichkeit, wenn die gesamte mentale Energie durch Konzentration gebündelt wird.

Wenn der Yogi durch Konzentration und Meditation beginnt, übernatürliche mentale und physische Kräfte zu entwickeln, könnte damit auch die Versuchung wachsen, diese zum eigenen Vorteil zu nutzen. Deshalb sollte Ahimsa fest in der Haltung des Yogis verankert sein.

Verletzende Intentionen führen, wie verletzende Handlungen zu existenziellen und emotionalen Verstrickungen. Diese können den Yogi in seiner Fähigkeit, die mentalen Modifikationen und Schwankungen willentlich zu beenden, wieder zurückwerfen.

Intentionen offenbaren sich im Handeln

Bestimmte mentale Haltungen, wie Vorurteile, pauschale Verdächtigungen oder Ressentiments beeinflussen unweigerlich unsere Handlungen. Sie führen zu entsprechenden Entscheidungen, selbst dann wenn uns diese Zusammenhänge im Augenblick des Handelns vielleicht noch verborgen sind.

T.K.V. Desikachar betont daher in seiner Interpretation von Patañjalis Yoga-Sūtren, dass die Entwicklung einer solchen Sensibilität für die Wirkungsweise gewaltsamer Intentionen ein schrittweiser Prozess ist, der voraussetzt, dass wir uns bemühen, “die Ursachen für falsche Sicht- und Verhaltensweisen herauszufinden, und wenn wir die zugrundeliegenden Kleshas [mentale und emotionale Hindernisse] in unserem Geist erkennen, dann werden sich unsere Haltungen ganz natürlich und schrittweise verändern. Die Kleshas werden an Kraft und Einfluss verlieren, und unser Umgang mit der Umwelt und unser Verhalten gegenüber anderen Menschen wird klarer und angemessener werden.”8

Acht Schritte zu Ahimsa?

Swami Hariharananda Aranya weist in seiner Interpretation der Yoga-Sutren von Patañjali darauf hin, dass die perfekte Umsetzung von Ahimsa wiederum Konzentration und Meditation voraussetzt. Nur so können subtilere Formen von Gewalt erkannt, aufgespürt und aufgegeben werden. Er betont, dass sich die acht Glieder des Ashtanga-Yoga (Sanskrit: Ashta: acht, Anga: Glieder) – Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi – jeweils aufeinander beziehen.

So hat man zu Beginn vielleicht nur eine vage Vorstellung, wie die Praxis der Gewaltlosigkeit aussehen könnte. Durch die schrittweise Vertiefung dieser Praxis kann der Yogi die tiefgreifende und transformierende Praxis der Gewaltlosigkeit etablieren. Pranayama, oder die Verlangsamung und Verfeinerung der Atmung kann den Körper in emotionalen Zuständen beruhigen. Asanas reinigen das Nerven- und Nadi-System. Durch Pratyahara, das Nach-innen-Richten der Aufmerksamkeit, erkennt der Yogi störende Gedanken oder einschränkende Paradigmen. Samyama, die konzentrierte Energie von Dharana, Dhyana und Samadhi, kann uns schließlich zu einem noch tieferen Verständnis der Wirkungen dieser Kleshas führen.

Ist Ahimsa schließlich so tief im Bewusstsein verankert, so verschwinden alle störenden, möglicherweise zu Gewalt führenden Gedanken irgendwann von selbst. Nur wenn diese mentalen Reaktionen nicht einmal dann wieder auftauchen, wenn man provoziert wird, hat man, so Swami H. Aranya, die Kunst der Ahimsa-Haltung gemeistert.

Ahimsa als politischer Begriff

Diese von T.K.V. Desikachar und Swami Hariharananda Aranya beschriebene Sensibilisierung für die subtileren Aspekte der Gewaltlosigkeit findet zunächst nur auf individueller Ebene statt.

Die mit dem Begriff ‘Ahimsa‘ umschriebene Haltung hat aber darüber hinaus das Potenzial zur Transformation des Zusammenlebens. Das heißt, sie hat politisches Potenzial. Doch auch wenn eine Protestbewegung mit gewaltlosen Mitteln für ihre Ziele kämpft, muss wiederum jede/r Einzelne die gewaltlose Haltung mittragen. Denn es braucht oft nur eine einzige gewaltsame Reaktion, um die Eskalation eines Konfliktes herbeizuführen. Dies kann die gesamte Bewegung in Misskredit bringen. Dieser Umstand wird sowohl von radikalen Gruppierungen als auch von der Staatsgewalt ausgenutzt, um gewaltlosen Widerstand zu diskreditieren.

Definitionsmacht

Eine der größten Herausforderungen für jene, die sich für die gewaltlose Haltung einsetzen ist, dass ‘Gewalt’ und ‘Gewaltlosigkeit’ umstrittene Begriffe sind. […] In öffentlichen Auseinandersetzungen können wir beobachten, dass die Bestimmung dessen, was als ‘gewaltsam’ gilt, labil ist. Die semantische Angemessenheit dieses Begriffes ist anfechtbar. […] Demonstrationen, Belagerungen, Versammlungen, Boykotts und Streiks werden oft als ‘gewaltsam’ bezeichnet, selbst dann, wenn dabei keine einzige physisch gewaltsame Handlung stattgefunden hat. […] Wenn Staaten oder Institutionen in dieser Weise versuchen, gewaltlose Praktiken als gewaltsam zu brandmarken, führen sie den politischen Kampf auf Ebene der öffentlichen Semantik fort.9

Randbemerkung der Geschichte

Die immense Herausforderung, die vielen Einzelnen auf die Haltung der Gewaltlosigkeit einzuschwören, um für die gemeinsame Sache einzustehen, wurde dennoch von erstaunlich vielen gewaltlosen Revolten bewältigt. Dennoch sind gewaltlose Bewegungen sowohl für die Massenmedien als auch für die Geschichtsschreibung meist nicht mehr als Randbemerkungen oder Fußnoten. Entweder wird ihre Wirksamkeit heruntergespielt oder sie werden, trotz ihres gewaltlosen Auftretens öffentlich als gewaltsam gebrandmarkt, weil der Staat das Macht- und Interpretations-Monopol für sich beansprucht.

Ahimsa als einendes Konzept?

Die vorherrschende Auffassung und massenmediale Darstellung der Weltereignisse hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten fast ausschließlich auf Terrorakte, religiöse und ethnische Konflikte, sowie gewaltsame Revolten konzentriert. Dennoch kann die Existenz von verborgenen Gegen- oder Unterströmungen des gewaltlosen politischen Agierens nicht geleugnet werden.

Gandhi war nicht der Erste, der diese gewaltfreie Form des Widerstandes kultiviert hat. Doch er war derjenige, der eine größere Öffentlichkeit auf die Macht dieser verborgenen Kräfte aufmerksam gemacht hat. Der Begriff ‘Ahimsa‘ spielt sowohl im ‘Hinduismus’ als auch in der Jainismus und im Buddhismus eine wichtige Rolle.

Aktuelle Relevanz

Während viele immer noch glauben, dass Gewaltlosigkeit ein wirkungsloses Mittel im Kampf gegen Diktatoren oder gegen Völkermord ist, gab es dennoch in den letzten Jahrzehnten viele demokratische Initiativen, die auf gewaltlosen Widerstand setzten und auf die Durchsetzung der Menschenrechte beharrten. Diese Initiativen trugen auf diese Weise dazu bei, eine globale Zivilgesellschaft auf einer soliden Basis aufzubauen.10

In einer Zeit, religiöser Spannungen, die durch rechte Politiker sowohl in Indien, als auch in Europa, in den USA, im Nahen Osten und nun auch in Südamerika geschürt werden, erscheint mir Ahimsa als kosmo-politisches Konzept wieder sehr relevant.

Ahimsa Archiv

Um die vielen, verborgenen Formen von Gewaltlosigkeit sichtbar werden zu lassen, soll ein heterogenes, offenes Archiv entstehen. Ein Archiv des gelebten Ahimsa-Wissens darüber, wie Gewalt und verletzende Intentionen vermieden werden können. Das Ahimsa-Archiv soll eine Alternative zur massenmedialen Darstellung bieten. Dabei geht es nicht darum, die kriegerische und gewaltsame Seite des Menschen zu leugnen. Nicht indem wir unsere Schattenseiten ignorieren und verdrängen, sondern gerade, indem wir uns mit unseren ‘Dämonen’ konfrontieren, können wir lernen, ihrem Sog zu widerstehen.

Der Schatten ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt. Jeder kann sich an seinem Aufbau beteiligen und braucht dazu nichts weiter als die Fähigkeit, unbewusst zu bleiben. […] Wir wehren uns gegen unseren Schatten und leugnen ihn, weil wir gründlich indoktriniert worden sind oder uns einfach unter der Hypnose der gesellschaftlichen Konditionierung befinden.”11

Entstehung von Gewalt

Gewalt entsteht oft aus individuellen oder kollektiven traumatischen Erfahrungen. Um ein Trauma zu überwinden, muss sich der/die Traumatisierte zuerst aus der Schreckstarre befreien, um allmählich ihre/seine Interpretation der eigenen Vergangenheit, seine/ihre Geschichte, transformieren zu können. Jedes Individuum hat dabei seine spezifische Art, mit Gewalterfahrungen umzugehen, findet eigene Strategien, die Hilflosigkeits- und Ohnmachtsgefühle, Wut, Angst und Trauer zu überwinden.

Was für das individuelle Gedächtnis gilt, gilt auch für das kollektive. Solange man sich als Opfer betrachtet, bleibt die Energie blockiert und manifestiert sich in Depressionen und Ängsten oder Panik-Attacken. Sie wird zu Selbsthass oder zur Rachsucht, äußert sich in Zorn oder Gewaltausbrüchen. Erst wenn es gelingt, die erlittene Gewalt als unwiderruflich vergangen zu betrachten, können die Energien wieder frei werden und sich in Kreativität, Spontaneität und mentaler Klarheit äußern.

Die Sprache wiederfinden

Gewalt wirkt nicht nur unmittelbar, sondern auch unvermittelt. Deshalb verschlägt ein gewalttätiger Angriff, ein traumatisches Erlebnis oder eine aggressive Provokation dem Opfer nicht selten die Sprache. Auch verletzende Worte oder Gesten können die Wirkung haben, dass uns erst Stunden oder Tage später einfällt, was wir hätten erwidern können.

Die Sprache wiederzufinden, Worte zu finden, um auszudrücken, was einem widerfahren ist, ist daher ein wichtiger Schritt, um sich aus dem Bann der Gewalt zu befreien. Dies kann in einem Gespräch mit einem Freund oder einer Therapeutin geschehen, aber auch, indem man die Emotionen beschreibt.

Ein Trauma lässt Menschen verstummen […]. Traumatische Erfahrungen für sich zu behalten hält aber ihre Wirkung aufrecht. […] Das Schweigen zu brechen ist der erste Schritt, automatisierte Reaktionsweisen durch bewusste Entscheidungen zu ersetzen.12

Transformation des Gedächtnisses

In Erzählungen verarbeitet das menschliche Gehirn Erlebtes und verwandelt alle Komponenten in Bio-Graphie oder Kartierungen. Dies gilt sowohl auf der individuellen, als auch auf der kollektiven Ebene. Die bewusste Auseinandersetzung mit diesen individuellen oder kollektiven Narrativen führt zur Transformation der Wahrnehmung der Vergangenheit.

Ziel des Ahimsa Netzwerkes ist eine solche Transformation des Gedächtnisses durch eine bewusste Auseinandersetzung mit vorherrschenden Narrativen und Diskursen aber auch durch eine Sammlung neuer Geschichten der gewaltlosen Rebellion.

Autorin: Eva Pudill

> LITERATUR

Geschätzte Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Übersicht aller Artikel: